The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time posting. Just wanted to introduce myself first.
I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes early since diabetes is in my family. I am now 30 weeks along, and want to ask those of you with more experience with diabetes.
The last time I visited my endo, he seemed to be somewhat concerned that about 1 out of every 5 fasting blood sugar level is over 90 but under 95 with an average of about 85. My 2 hour postprandials are pretty much all below 120 with an average of barely 100. I am not on any meds/insulin, but he asked me how I felt about taking a shot of NPH before bedtime. I said no because I thought he was being way too strict with the guidelines. He then suggested eating a little snack before bedtime... What are your experiences out there? Is this really too high?

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello & welcome, jasminscent! Your numbers look good to me, but what do I know? It's only been 43 years since I had a baby! ;) And I don't use insulin yet either, so I'm pretty useless. :D Stay tuned - there are others here who may know better than I!

Thank you for joining us!

·
Registered
2,771 Posts
I was diagnosed with gestational diabetes early since diabetes is in my family. I am now 30 weeks along, and want to ask those of you with more experience with diabetes.
The last time I visited my endo, he seemed to be somewhat concerned that about 1 out of every 5 fasting blood sugar level is over 90 but under 95 with an average of about 85. My 2 hour postprandials are pretty much all below 120 with an average of barely 100. I am not on any meds/insulin, but he asked me how I felt about taking a shot of NPH before bedtime. I said no because I thought he was being way too strict with the guidelines. He then suggested eating a little snack before bedtime... What are your experiences out there? Is this really too high?