The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Im very new to the whole let's share my diabetes thing! Never even considered looking online fir support. I joined twitter a few months ago and that's slowly opened my eyes to all the other people who feel the same as I do about diabetes!
I'm 25 years old. Iv had diabetes for 15 years. Bad control through teenage years but got it together over the past few years. Plodding along nicely with it all until I decided to start a family. Got hba1c to 6.8% all was good then my eyes began to fail me! Iv spent the last year having numerous laser treatments to both eyes. I am currently recovering from vitrectomy surgery to the left eye and waiting to see if that works and if the right eye will settle on it's own.
It has been a hard 12 months for me. Children r all iv ever wanted and diabetes is stopping me from having that.
Tired if feeling alone so looking for support, education and to know that other people have a crappy time too!

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
Hello Chappers, welcome to DF. I have had a lot of eye repairs this year too, and I hope yours heal well so you can get on with TTC.

You are definitely NOT alone - there is good support here. These are the best friends of all - they understand what we're talking about of things diabetic!

·
Registered
165 Posts
howdy chappers. sorry for your troubles but you're not alone

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
Hi chappers, welcome! The bad control during your teen years has probably resulted in your eye problems. The best thing you can possibly di is to tighten your control and lower your A1c even more. My A1c has been below 6.0 for many years. I have been type 1 for 65 years and my eyes have no problems.