The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there I am a newbie at this but here goes. I am originally from the uk but moved to Spain in 1997 with my husband. I was diagnosed diabetic a year after we arrived which was a shock. I have been on avandamet which has now been taken off the market then Actos which caused me to put on lots of weight. I have now been on Janumet for a week and never had so many side effects before. I am nauseous I have very low blood counts eg 41 in Spanish terms and other side effects. I am hoping the side effects will wear off after a while, If not it will be back to the doctor again. If anyone has any advice I would be grateful. Thanks.

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
Welcome to DF. My daughter will be leaving in Septemeber to work in Spain for a year. She will be in Galicia. She is very excited. I don't know much about Janumet. I am on metformin the maximum dose and it works pretty well with a low carb diet and exercise. If you go to www.bloodsugar101 she has a chart on all the diabetes drugs and side effects. I know she feels januvia causes inflammation which some people have difficulty with. Glad you found us.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Welcome

Hi there I am a newbie at this but here goes. I am originally from the uk but moved to Spain in 1997 with my husband. I was diagnosed diabetic a year after we arrived which was a shock. I have been on avandamet which has now been taken off the market then Actos which caused me to put on lots of weight. I have now been on Janumet for a week and never had so many side effects before. I am nauseous I have very low blood counts eg 41 in Spanish terms and other side effects. I am hoping the side effects will wear off after a while, If not it will be back to the doctor again. If anyone has any advice I would be grateful. Thanks.