The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi!

I'm new to the forum but not to diabetes. I am T2, meds 3 times a day, exercise, and diet. My doctor wants me on a new medication called Onglyza. I don't know about you guys but I hate trying new medication. My A1C is usually good but lately the numbers have been creeping up. Well that's it in a nutshell.

Scarlet P.

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
Hi Scarlet - welcome aboard. Dang about your number creep.

You gave a nutshell, now I'll give an inquistion :) - I'm assuming the med you take is metformin? What is your A1C and how much creep? How about your after-meal numbers? That's all the questions for now, but I've got a whole satchel ready to go ...

I have no experience with Onglyza, the only insulin producing med I was on was glipizide for a month or so after my dx, then I was able to get off it. Others will know more about Onglyza than I since I know nothing. Full of questions and no bloody help.

Glad you're here :)

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I'm assuming the med you take is metformin? What is your A1C and how much creep? How about your after-meal numbers? That's all the questions for now, but I've got a whole satchel ready to go ...

I have no experience with Onglyza, the only insulin producing med I was on was glipizide for a month or so after my dx, then I was able to get off it. Others will know more about Onglyza than I since I know nothing. Full of questions and no bloody help.

Glad you're here :)
Yes, on Metformin 500mg x 3 times a day but I tend to take it only twice a day. Three times a day makes me runnnn to the washroom :eek:

That's why I'm trying Onglyza in fact. I just can't take Metformin 3 times a day because of unpleasant uncontrollable side effects erm.

A1C last December : 6.5
A1C this July : 8.0