The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone! I am glad to be here. It will be hard to follow an introduction like Noodle's. What fun he wold be to hang out with! I have been battling my diabetes diagnosis for about 8 years now (since I was 32-ok 34). When I was 7 weeks pregnant, I was diagnosed as a gestational diabetic with an A1c of 9 (I know, crazy- at 7 weeks, someone should have said something) & put on insulin. The day my dd was born, my bs was never taken again & I was never given insulin again... until I went to a check-up a year later & my gyno said - WOW- your bs is 380! you should have that checked... Of course, I remembered all the fun I had with the shots and so instead I just started back on my low-carb diet. I have never been overweight & have been very active most of my life, so at the time I was 5' 7" & 125 lbs. I knew the "eat right & exercise speech" by heart from my pregnancy. A year of that did no good. I was training for 10Ks & was too tired! My dr. said I was type 2, & I needed to do more diet & exercise. I was put on pills. For about 3 years I tried various oral meds but they made no difference one way or the other. Each new dr sent me to a new dietician who didn't believe a word I said until I quit going to the dr. & quit taking the oral meds. Over the next couple of years, I was eating less than 1200 calories a day with no more than 20 grams of carbs a day, running about 9 miles a week & living off of two or three Monster energy drinks/day just to get out of bed- not too healthy. My blood sugar would go up every time I so much as walked up a flight of stairs & I was in all kinds of pain, but no dr. could find anything wrong with me. I never had any other diabetic symptom. No thirst, no urination, my eyes were great, my feet were fine, I didn't lose weight (I wish I had that symptom- although I didn't really NEED it- there is always that 5 pounds