The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All,

I’m a newbie and just wanted to introduce myself. I’m a 47 year old male, overweight, living with sleep apnea (use a mask) and have high blood pressure (which is under control with Amlodipine).

About five months ago, I had a blood test and my doc told me my A1C was 9.8 and glucose was 298 – not good he said! He put me on Metformin 500 mg twice a day and told me to lose weight, change my diet, and exercise. Easier said than done, but I’ve made some small progress….

Anyway, since that first test, I’ve lost about 25lbs and my last blood test had my A1C down to 5.8 and my glucose was at 98.

The last three days I decided to test myself for a month to learn how my body reacts to the meals I’ve been eating, and I must say the testing drives me crazy. Even though my doc told me I didn’t quite need to do the daily testing thing since my blood tests have been better and better (I’ve taken 4 over the last 6 months) I decided to arm myself with as much knowledge as possible anyway. I’m sure these questions have been asked a thousand times, but I would sincerely appreciate if anyone could shed some light on the subject of testing and blood sugar levels…….

The last three days, first thing in the morning, my fasting results have been at 72, 88, and 96. My father, who is also a type 2, told me if he was at 72 he’d be shaking but he said everybody is different. I felt perfectly fine at 72, but it does make me wonder if I was too low, or if I’m possibly taking too much Metformin?

The last three days after an estimated 20 to 25 carb lunches, I’ve been reading 88, 89, and 91, so I think I’m ok there….. But……