The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I'm Jo-anne & I live in country Victoria, Australia.
I got diagnosed with type 2 diabetes in June of this year. So I'm still a newbie. I kind of saw this diagnosis coming but didn't do much about it. My Mum & one of my brothers had diabetes. Both have passed away.

Other than knowing Mum & my brother had diabetes I didn't really know a lot about it. I have learned quite a bit since June and have dived right in to doing the right thing. I have even lost 13 kilos (about 28 pounds) which I consider to be a bonus.

I'm off to check the boards but I am glad I found this place. It kind of feels good to know I am not alone.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts
You're definitely not alone, Jo-anne - welcome to one of the busiest little diabetes havens in cyberspace! And congratulations on your weight loss - in only four months! Way to go!

Thank you for joining us . . . take care & visit often!! :wave:

·
Registered
741 Posts
Hi blossy...I used to live in Bendigo (ex was in the army)...welcome from Perth

·
Registered
709 Posts
Hi Blossy I'm from rural Qld just wanted to welcome you congrat you on your weight loss Im sure that will help, any help you need fellow members will certainly do what they can to enighten you :)

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
Hi Blossy,

Welcome the group. It's great that you are taking such good care of yourself. And Congrats on the weight loss ! :target:

How are your BG numbers doing ? Are you on any meds/insulin ?

Tony

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Hi Tony
Thank you :)

My levels range anywhere from 4.8 for a fasting glucose to 9.2 a couple of hours after dinner. Tonight's one was a bit high. I know where I went wrong on that one but boy did my dinner taste good :D