The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Maybe I should have explained more. I was diagnosed with type two last week and prescribed metformin. Feeling pretty alone in it and my docs are little help. So many questions but nowhere to turn so hoping some here can help

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
Welcome to the forum. There's a ton of information here - and support.

You say you have a lot of questions - ask away! Many will be answered as you read through historical threads. I know I was up all night for days just devouring all the information I could.

Sorry about your diagnosis. I know it's a shock. I'm a 3-month veteran and can testify that it all becomes easier exponentially. Really.

Glad you're here.

·
Registered
710 Posts
Hi ChezzaH - glad you've found us.

Receiving a diabetes diagnosis is definitely not fun. How did it come up for you? I'm a T1 who was diagnosed in the ER with blood sugar of 750 and an A1C of 15.5!

A good place to start with your treatment is to befriend your meter. You may have been told that you only need to test a couple of times a week. BUNK. By testing before you eat, then a couple of hours after to see the difference between your baseline BG and the increase caused by carbs in your meal, you'll begin to develop a personalized list of you-friendly carbs. A non-diabetic's blood sugar will rise about 30 or 40 points and return to baseline within an hour or two. For those of us who are pancreatically challenged, it might be tough to mimic that. You're looking for your blood sugar to rise no more than about 50 points and to be headed back down by that two hour mark. If your increase is more than that, you can consider reducing the amount of that carb or eliminating it from your food list.