The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been a type1 diabetic for 47 years.In recent years, I have started having severe reactions at night.I don't have them very often,but once every 6 mos. is enough to worry my family,especially my husband, who has to travel for business occassionally. I have changed my insulin.I no longer take Lantus at night,and I use Novolog to cover meals.Also, I use Novolog for correction purposes.Usually I do very well. My night glucose readings rise about 2 AM(I get up and test) I use a correction dose 1 unit Novolog for every100 Blood Gloucose units over a normal reading,plus 2 units Novolog to get me thru 'til morning. This gives me a morning reading between 85-116. I have been using this formula for close to 6 months,without fail and without problems. The other night I had a severe reaction. My husband and I could only figure out that I had been under stress,due to the earthquake,and the preparations I was making for the predicted hurricane in our area. The explaination is probably right,hine site being 20/20,but that doesn't help me predict when I might have another reaction. I have been looking at continous blood glucose monitors,but it seems like expensive overkill for the problem.Help!! My husband doesn't feel comfortable traveling because he is my backup when I have an episode. Does anyone have a thought on the subject? If CGM's are the only answer then does anyone use one? Other than the expense, what are the pros and cons? Is one better than another? What are your experiences with them? Any and all answers would be appreciated.

·
Registered
6 Posts