The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi, i am 22 yrs old and have just recently become eligible for a new insulin pump. i have been doing some research and came across the Omni Pod. i am new to this forum so idk if this is a topic that has already been discussed before but as i will be stuck with whatever decision i make for the next four years so i want to have all the information i can get. i am a college student and ride horses everytime i have a spare moment. i am a very active person and must admit the tubing is a real pain sometimes. i have a real talent for snatching it out. has anyone used the omni pod? i am currently using the animas 2020 and so if anyone can give me any information on any of the pumps you've used or are using i would greatly appreciate it.

thanks in adv

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
I've used an OmniPod for 2-1/2 years and switched to a traditional pump (Medtronic Revel 723) when I became eligible for Medicare. Since there is a wide difference in our ages, I don't know if my opinion will be important to you.

At first I liked the OmniPod, especially the part where there was no tubing. Then I began having issues with the PDM (personal diabetes manager). Over the course of my time with the OmniPod, I went through 5 PDMs. I also had problems with the pod itself quitting during the priming process was complete. One Sunday I had 5 pods fail, one right after another. I was on the phone with their tech support when three of the pods failed.

If you decide to go with the Pod, be sure you have good insurance because it is not cheap. One of my favorite places to wear the pod was on my arm. If you decide to get the pod, my advice would be to wear a spandex sleeve of some kind over your pod when you go horseback riding. Horses can be inquisitive and might decide to nibble on that 'strange smelling thing' on your body.