The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
460 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I'm Frank by name and sometime by nature :p

I see some "old friends" here from my old haunt... a place we shall never speak of again but it has an uncannily similar Forum name :)

52 year old. Father of a wonderful 19 year old son who recently made the Dean's list at his University.

First career was a a Registered Nurse... initially in the British Royal Navy and then in isolated communities on the Labrador coast of Canada. Now I work as a Software Analyst.

Diagnosed with Metabolic Syndrome -- Type 2 Diabetes, Hypertension, Dyslipidemia, Obesity, Fatty Liver etc... etc... -- in March 2003. I hadn't seen a Doctor in 12 years prior to that, so gawd knows how long I had been developing Diabetes. :eek:

Started early on Insulin: Multiple Daily Injections of basal + bolus (MDI), and then using an Insulin Pump.

Thought I was doing OK. I believe "knowledge is power" so I was researching extensively and an active part of my own health care team but I guess I was swept along by the "mainstream" thinking and it was only after joining that other nameless forum that I first heard about low-carb as an option :eek:

I read Gary Taubes "Good Calories Bad Calories" and immediately realised what I had been doing wrong all that time and why on insulin I had gained over 100lbs in excess fat storage in just the previous 12 months... despite good Blood Glucose (BG) control.

Before I even read Dr Bernstein's "Diabetes Solution" or Dr Atkins "New Diet Revolution" I had already gone "cold turkey" and cut everything out of my diet (what I eat) that listed more than 1g Carbohydrate per serving. I lost 25lbs in the first 2 months but more amazingly, for the first time in 25 years I was no longer hungry all the time... as soon as one meal was finished planning for the next.