The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all :smile2:
I'm not much of a pasta eater, never have been but there is one thing I love and that's "angel hair with shrimp and garlic putter".
I thought my days of eating this were over until I found this pasta.

I know there is nothing in them but I think the garlic butter makes up for that (fat)
It's easy to make as it is already cooked (refrigerated) just par boil for 3-4 min and its done. Make your garlic butter cook the shrimp in that slowly, then add the noodles and stir. It's totally delicious yeah!! I have my one pasta meal :biggrin:
People with seafood allergies can substitute what ever meat (and veggies they like)
It's also glutton free which is a plus for people like me.
Sorry if this is bad, I'm still learning. But I hope it's ok.

·
Premium Member
9,422 Posts
It's a fairly good substitute for pasta, especially in the early days of learning to reduce carbs. If you like it, then that's great.

It has a somewhat fishy smell when you first open the package, and that's not so bad if you're having it with fish. The smell is reduced quite a bit if one rinses it several (like 6-8 ) times before using it.

·
Super Moderator
1,940 Posts
Good find!

The flatter noodles in chicken soup or the angel hair in a stirfry are so popular with me (and even my non-diabetic wife) that I've got a stock of them in the fridge for just such occasions.

Reactions: Nele

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It's a fairly good substitute for pasta, especially in the early days of learning to reduce carbs. If you like it, then that's great.

It has a somewhat fishy smell when you first open the package, and that's not so bad if you're having it with fish. The smell is reduced quite a bit if one rinses it several (like 6-8 ) times before using it.
Oh yeah forgot to mention the rinsing part hehe:vs_blush:

·
Super Moderator
1,940 Posts