The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am at a loss.

I am a public school teacher. When I relocated to Maryland for a new job I chose the most expensive insurance plan possible to cover my supplies for type 1 diabetes. I use a pump.

I am insured through CareFirst BlueCross BlueShield in Maryland. Because of my insurance policy, I am NOT allowed to get diabetes supplies through a local pharmacy, or ANY pharmacy. I am only allowed to mail-order supplies from a "medical supplier." This would be fine, except I can't find a medical supplier who can provide me with the supplies I need. I found one in Florida but they are no longer allowed to mail insulin to Maryland because of state restrictions.

When I talk to the insurance company they just tell me wrong information. One woman told me that I am able to order through my local pharmacy, which turned out to be false. Another told me to order through Liberty Mutual, which is...car insurance?! When I found Liberty Medical, which I assume is what they meant, they are a pharmacy so I can't order through them.

I've been spending thousands of dollars on my supplies throughout all this because no one can tell me where I'm allowed to order from online.

Has anyone else run into this problem? Does anyone have a good medical supplier who ships to Maryland, isn't a pharmacy, and has insulin & testing supplies? Please, please, please offer your advice or recommendations. I need help and haven't found it yet despite hours and hours of searching. How is it this hard? :confused:

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
What a nightmare! I regret having nothing to offer but sympathy, as I know nothing about this insurance issue. Hopefully someone will be able to be of help. It's unconscionable that your insurance company can't offer resources, but then, that wouldn't help their bottom line would it?