The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Is it possible to become insulin resistant following a low carb diet? I keep my carbs below 50g about 5-6 days a week usually but I allow myself 1-2 days where I eat regularly consisting of about 100-150g of carbs. However I have high BG readings ranging from 220-270 even with extra insulin on those 2 days. They go back to normal when I go back to my low carb days.

What gives? :confused:

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
I've been doing some version of low carb for 4 years. I do find that I am more sensitive to carbs especially the processed ones. I'm not sure the reason but suspect it is probably has to do with what the body expects. If you always eat 50 carbs and then all of a sudden triple the amount your body is overwhelmed. This is why they tell you that you need to develop a Way of Eating for life.

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
I know you mentioned in your introduction thread that you're a type-I, but is it also possible you're insulin-resistant?

That would certainly explain higher BG readings during your higher carb days.

Either that of you don't have your bolus dosage quite right.

Either way, it would REALLY be best if you ate consistently as much as possible.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I've been doing some version of low carb for 4 years. I do find that I am more sensitive to carbs especially the processed ones. I'm not sure the reason but suspect it is probably has to do with what the body expects. If you always eat 50 carbs and then all of a sudden triple the amount your body is overwhelmed. This is why they tell you that you need to develop a Way of Eating for life.
I know that eating low carb eventually depletes your glycogen storage. Which is why I have a couple of high carb days to replenish it. I'm doing this primarily to shed excess fat. It's working pretty good so far.