The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello,
i am new to all of this so please excuse me if i dont explain everything in the correct way.

I recently started experiencing extreme foot pain, i guess it would be called "burning foot", so i got my fasting glucose test done and the numbers i got were: glucose 107H, the hemoglobin A1c was 5.5. I went over these with my doctor and he said they numbers are high, but that i am not diabetic. He didn't seem to think the pain was connected to blood sugar. I don't remember a conversation about whether i am prediabetic, but i believe i am.

My question is: can i be getting the burning foot symptoms with these numbers? I am a 65 yr old male, that is pretty active, i rarely eat meat, I walk constantly, i don't drink at all. I swam 3x a week until the pool was closed due to the pandemic. I have recently reduced my carb intake and I see some improvement, which just confirms my idea that the foot pain is indeed connected to blood sugar.

Does any of this make any sense to anyone? i am seeing my foot doctor next week.

·
Super Moderator
9,632 Posts
Hi Tfalk, welcome to the forum.

I'm not a doctor and don't work in the medical profession and can only state my personal opinion.