The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I met with a dietitian yesterday for the first time. Being new to diabetes, I'm still learning and I was surprized to learn I have been doing my insulin "wrong" the past 3+ weeks. Apparently, when you are first dianosed the doctors tell you to use a reactive method, i.e. you eat, check BG 2 hours later and inject the appropriate insulin units. I've been doing this and recording all my my values/units.

Well, she moved me to being proactive, i.e. where I estimate my carb intake, do a quick calculation based on my titrated history, and then I inject myself BEFORE eating. This makes a LOT more sense to me because I've been spiking as high as 200 when I was waiting to inject.

All the past couple of weeks I've been thinking the reactive method was pretty dumb and I've been telling my wife that I don't know why I just don't inject BEFORE my meal. LOL Now, you don't have to warn me, I do realize I need to eat immediately after the inject so I don't crash. :)

I'm kind of surprized that nobody here mentioned this proactive approach to me. Are most of you proactive or reactive? :confused:

G

·
I don't bolus, so let's skip that part. What I'd like to address is your Lantus dosage, how you came to that number and has that been your basal number since you were prescribed Lantus. The reason I ask is that in prescribing Lantus it's recommended, by sanovi-aventis, that the initial dosage be at least 10 units. I've found most do 'basal testing' and once that number is established they move on to dialing in their bolus amounts. You, being new to this, may be uneducated on how all that works. So...I'd like you to read this and catch yourself up a little on how to set that basal amount.

Welcome to the forum.

·
Registered
24,394 Posts