The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When it comes to the LCHF way of eating, how do you figure the proper amount of protein? I am not good with mathematics and my Doctor has advised me to not eat 'too much protein'. She also cautioned me to eat enough protein for energy.

Currently I am spilling protein into my urine and I would like to reverse that if possible. I just don't know enough about this way of eating to make an intelligent choice.

I rarely eat red meat and I prefer beans, chicken, turkey or fish. My Dad who was also diabetic suffered kidney complications because of poor control. I want to avoid that if possible.

Can anyone suggest reading material that might help clarify this type of information?

Reactions: Dodie37737

·
Registered
1,095 Posts
In Norway we learns that you need between 1 gram and 2,5 gram for each kilo bodymass depending on how active you are.
I am not active and eat about 50 gram of protein each day (my weight is 48 kilo)
My son who is an active longdistance runner needs to eat about 170 gram of protein each day. His weight is 64 kilo.

·
Registered
1,444 Posts
As per Dr Bernstein the amount is about 1gm per kg of body weight... I am currently having about 80 to 100 gms per day...

And you can have a look at one of my threads where I was worried about spilling protein into my urine. Apparently dietary protein is not related to protein in the urine. That's what people here and my doctor said

Here's the link

http://www.diabetesforum.com/diabetes-forum-lounge/6948-test-results-2-months-post-dx-good-bad.html

And then in my next tests the protein had gone..

http://www.diabetesforum.com/diabet...-months-post-diagnosis-more-improvements.html

My doctor said that spilling protein is caused by sustained high HbA1C and once you keep it low for a while it normally goes away...