The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was diagnosed with Type II diabetes 3 weeks ago and am having serious issues with the medications.

Was given Metformin to try which sent me running tot he bathroom with severe diarrhea within an hour of taking it. Then was switched to Glumetza, a time release form of Metformin and it did the same thing and made me feel awful, so I stopped it....Endocrinologist I was sent to switched me to Tradjenta, but that's sending me to the bathroom too along with stomach pains.

Anyone taking anything that is a lot less harsh...I can't continue to take these medications as I work in retail, work 3-4 nights a week, which means I am eating dinner at 10 p.m. every night so I can take medication in case I have a bout with diarrhea. I can't eat earlier at work or else I'm in the bathroom for 30 minutes which I can't do at work.

PLEASE HELP ME!!!!

·
Registered
8,607 Posts
Hello and :welcome:

I'm sorry but without a bit more information, it's difficult to say a lot. Can you give us more information on what your blood glucose figures looked like three weeks back and other than medication what guidance you were given particularly in respect of diet? What was your HbA1c, blood glucose reading and do you have any other issues complicating the matter?

Metformin is the safest of medications on offer to us but it can cause what is euphemistically called gastric distress when taken particularly with a high carbohydrate diet. The extended release version is normally a bit kinder in that respect but again, ideally used with a reduced carbohydrate diet.