The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4,368 Posts
I'm all for healthy options at lunch but I don't think the government should force kids to eat a certain way because they blame obesity on everything. I don't think the one slice of pizza a child eats is what is making him obese. I used to be a teacher and even 30 years ago there were healthy veggies and fruits on the kids trays, but most ended up in the garbage can. You can't force the kids to eat healthy. I would also think most of the junk the kids eat is eaten after school.

Reactions: thcri and d33na

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
Governments need to change what they subsidize... Maybe if fresh vegetables, milk and cheeses, etc., had a subsidy, instead of corn, wheat, etc...

But that would cause HUGE implications from a economic standpoint, as long as the economies are built on grains.

We need the world to realize what's healthy... when the world is looking for more meat, cheese, eggs, etc., instead of cheap grains... then maybe a change can happen?

Or maybe I'm dreaming, who knows.

Reactions: d33na and foxl

·
Registered
5,911 Posts
This is depressing. I just started letting my kids eat meat this summer ... whaddya know? They LOVE the school lunches. I HATE it. :(

My oldest really wanted to eat meat, just FOR the school lunches, too. And of course it IS easier.

Starchy crap, though our district has a reputation for making better ones.

·
Registered
1,476 Posts