The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Blood glucose testing is the most powerful diagnostic tool available to a diabetic. Unfortunately, most diabetics are not taught how to properly test and use the data to control and manage the disease.

I have done a lot of research in this area, and found that one of the common themes for healthy diabetics is that they get it -- it's all about the data ...

Of course, nutrition, exercise, support, etc. are also important, but if you're not taking full advantage of the data, you can't achieve optimum health.

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
I am a mathematician and I enjoy working with numbers. There are a lot of numbers involved in pumping insulin. I love my pump. A good A1c (below 6.0) is not good enough though. It is necessary to also have a low standard deviation in order to minimize the risk of complications.

Richard

·
Registered
4 Posts
BG testing

H, What am I supposed to look for. My Diabetic nurse said to check about once a week which I felt was useless. I check about 4-5 times daily although I am only allowed 50 strips a month so I have to buy the rest. DO not know what I am aiming for. I am not on medication of any sort for the diabetes although on several for other things including high BP and Cholesterol . Please advise.

Yrfee
I have done a lot of research in this area, and found that one of the common themes for healthy diabetics is that they get it -- it's all about the data ...

Of course, nutrition, exercise, support, etc. are also important, but if you're not taking full advantage of the data, you can't achieve optimum health.[/QUOTE]

·
Registered
4 Posts
Re Power of glucose testing

Please let me know what I am supposed to be looking for in my readings As I really do not get much help on the suject here in WALES uk. do NOT TAKE DIABETIC MEDS - yet.

·
Registered
279 Posts