Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My blood work came back normal.
I could have told the doctor they'd be normal, because my fasting blood sugar is always normal.

I don't have problems until I eat something carbohydrate rich.
Then my blood sugar shoots sky high.
For example, my fasting blood sugar was 68.
I ate bowl of corn flakes, and when I tested two hours later, it was at 242.

What's wrong with me?

·
Registered
718 Posts
I'm assuming you doctor only did a fasting glucose test then?

I would request an A1c.

With your post meal numbers, I'd say you are at least pre-diabetic or insulin resistant, but I'm not a doctor. If it's 242 at two hours, it's probably higher than that at one hour.

I would restrict carbs and see what your post-meal numbers are then.

If you haven't read bloodsugar101.com, then I would recommend it. I believe it touches on the fact that fasting numbers are usually the last to go. So, if you've caught it now, then good job, you may save your pancreas and your body some unnecessary damage!

·
Registered
718 Posts
Here you go -

The Patterns in Which Diabetes Develops

"Abnormal Post-Challenge Blood Sugar with Normal Fasting Glucose is The Most Common Pattern for Those Developing Type 2 Diabetes

If you wonder which is more common a manifestation of early blood sugar abnormality, high post-meal numbers or high fasting glucose, The Baltimore Longitudinal Study of Aging data answers that clearly.

In the group that went on to develop diabetes, 225 people initially developed abnormal 2 hour glucose tolerance test results (Impaired Glucose Tolerance) while maintaining normal Fasting Plasma Glucose.

Of those who eventually developed diabetes, only 30 participants developed abnormal Fasting Plasma Glucose without showing abnormal results on the glucose tolerance test.