The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've read here on this forum about Type 1.5 and am wondering what that is. I'm pre-diabetic with an A1C of 6.2 and fasting glucose of 107. I'm morbidly obese according to my bmi. :(

So what is type 1.5? I've never heard of it before. But then again, I'm new to researching diabetes.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Type 1.5 is slang that according to American Diabetes Association includes LADA(Which is simply a slow onset autoimmune diabetes) and MODY(genetic type of diabetes which runs in families generally). Some doctors will also use it to describe any type 2 condition which means the patient is insulin deficient rather than insulin resistant. As you are morbidly obese this makes it more likely given your A1C and fasting levels that you are type 2 insulin resistant however you can have a normal weight and still be insulin resistant and you can be very overweight and still not be appreciably insulin resistant.

There are tests that can prove or disprove the type but ultimately what matters is the numbers and this is what doctors concentrate on. If D+E arent working and metformin doesnt work the way it should it might be worth having more tests just to confirm that you arent 1.5 however some people who are type 2 still dont improve much with metformin.

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Oh ok, thank you for your reply :)

·
Registered
1,590 Posts