The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been experimenting with cinnamon for several months now, after getting approval from my endo. At first I took 500mg with my first two meals, then I started taking it right before, as I noticed it worked better if it got into my system faster.

I eventually settled on taking it 5-10 minutes ahead of the meal, and letting the capsule disolve in my mouth. This might be too much for some, but it no longer bothers me at all. I am taking a 500mg capsule prior to lunch, which is my first meal, as I get to bed late with my schedule. I then usually take 500mg 5-10 minutes before supper and then 500 mg about 5-10 minutes after supper, which is usually my largest meal of the day, at around 6-7 pm.

I eat a small meal before bed, which rarely contains very many carbs, unless my BG is low, and I do not take any cinnamon then. This pattern seems to work well for me.

On very rare occasion my after lunch may be elevated, for me, at 120-125. I will then take another 500 mg capsule, which usually brings it down pretty quickly, to the 100-107 range.

I try not to exceed 4 500 mg capsules in a 24 hour period, and average 3.

Doing this, I have been averaging between in the 80's to 90's from high's to lows, with the lowest being 64 and the highest being 126. I check my BG before and 1-2 hours after eating, recently leaning closer to 1 hour, especially before bed.

I have discussed my results with the doctor, but they can't officially say it works, but they do tell me that a LOT of their patients have similar experiences, and tell me to keep it up if it does.

I should add that I also control my BG with diet and exercise which is obviously important, and I am very careful about the diet. I run 5 days a week on average, 6 miles a day with a longer run on occasion. I also do push ups, sit ups and small weight work outs.