The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How do the liquid water flavor enhancers like Mio, Koolaid, Crystal Light, etc. affect BG levels? They say on the package 0g sugar and carbs, but are there hidden carbs/sugar? I am new to this and need some experienced advice. Are they OK or should I stay away from them?

·
Registered
3,831 Posts
I have used Mio before and it has not been a problem. KoolAid and Crystal lite I have not tried but unsweetened should not be a problem and add the sweetener of your choice. I use liquid Splenda but there are other choices. It's true there can be hidden carbs and being aware of that is good but testing after consuming any new item will determine how it affects you so it is necessary to test often when starting on your quest to determine how different foods treat you.

·
Premium Member
9,421 Posts
I'm not familiar with flavor enhancers, but I do use flavoring extracts in various foods (LC baked goods), and haven't found any impact on my BG.

Bottom line is, what does your meter tell you. Although this requires you to purchase said item first.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks! I was reading the Dietdoctor and other info on here and just couldn't find any info one way or the other. I don't think that those style products are mentioned, only suggesting to flavor water with lemon. I am trying to formulate a plan of action going forward.

I have read to stay away from milk as it has a lot of sugar. I used to drink whole milk but recently switched to 2% (at Snorebabe's suggestion) because my cholesterol's were a little high. I have 2 glasses in the morning's with my omelette. So now I am gonna have to swap to water and wanted to have it flavored sometimes. I don't like the "aftertaste" of the artificial sweeteners such as splenda or diet soda's.

So MUCH to learn (and re-learn)!! This site is AWESOME!

·
Premium Member
9,421 Posts