The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
He-e-e-elp!

You will have to excuse me if I'm typing this in the wrong place, I'm new to diabetes and new to forums (I've led a sheltered life! What is a tag anyway?).

As someone (female) who was diagnosed with borderline type 2 a couple of months ago I've read anything and everything I could get my hands on. What I can't understand is that everybody says I have to watch my weight. Well okay, but I was not overweight before having problems and the only place I've put on weight since then is around my middle. When I tried to lose weight I found I could lose it easily ...everywhere except around my middle. So I now have thin arms, legs and everywhere else but. (All I need is the hairy feet and I'd look like a hobbit.)

I've now been told by a pharmacist that the excess weight around the middle is typical. So here's the confusing bit. The mechanism for putting on weight in the normal way seems to be well-known, yet nobody seems to know what the mechanism is for diabetics putting on weight around the middle, or do they? If we knew we could tackle the problem.

Maybe I'm sounding a bit too scientific but if I can do something about the situation I will.

Good luck to you all in fighting the good fight!

Corky.

·
Registered
663 Posts
Hello & Welcome to Diabetes Forums.

Next time that you visit the doctor, Ask them about Diabetes. Do you feel that you are hungry and at the toilet more often. In general a balance of food and exercise is the key for good health!! Once that you take meds then things can become complex. Exercise is our main problem and make use if the food that we eat. :)

·
Registered
3,024 Posts