The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
141 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I understand that a normal fasting bs is 65-99 (I should aim for 80-90), testing 2 hrs. after meals, normal is less than 180 (I should aim for 110-120). Normal at other times is in the low to mid 100's (I have no idea what the numbers should be 1 hr, 3 hrs, etc. after eating.) But I see from the posts here that blood sugar can also get too low, then you should eat a lolly or whatever.

My questions are, what is "the number" that is too low after fasting, what is the number that is too low 2 hrs. after meals and what is the number that is too low at other times? There is probably no exact number, but I'm new at this and haven't the slightest idea when it is time for a lolly.

·
Registered
1,491 Posts
A few numbers might want to be corrected:

Regarding Fasting Readings:
Blood Sugar 101 said:
A normal fasting blood sugar (which is also the blood sugar a normal person will see right before a meal) is:

83 mg/dl (4.6 mmol/L) or less.

Many normal people have fasting blood sugars in the mid and high 70 mg/dl (3.9 mmol/L) range.

Though most doctors will tell you any fasting blood sugar under 100 mg/dl (5.6 mmol/L) is "normal", there are several studies that suggest that testing with a fasting blood sugar in the mid 90 mg/dl (5 mmol/L) range often predicts diabetes that is diagnosed a decade later.
Regarding Post-Meal Readings:
Blood Sugar 101 said:
Independent of what they eat, the blood sugar of a truly normal person is:

Under 120 mg/dl (6.6 mmol/L) one or two hours after a meal.

Most normal people are under 100 mg/dl (5.5 mmol/L) two hours after eating.
Anything above 140 (7.8 mmol/L) is the dangerous zone where diabetic complications start. The goal is to be UNDER that level as much as possible. It's hard to get there when first diagnosed, but is possible.

Please someone correct me if I'm wrong here...