The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
96 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Being somewhat of a computer geek. (I'm a Linux Administrator by trade.); I like using software to help me with my diabetes.

Back in January when I was first diagnosed. All my computers were running Linux. I only found one diabetes program available for Linux. It was:
Diabetes Software for Desktop, Palm, PocketPC, Phone, Web: HealthEngage Diabetes
I liked the trial Linux version. But I later found out that it was impossible to purchase the commercial version.
(Order form on their website doesn't work AND their phone has been disconnected. Out of business ?)

So I upgraded my one windows desktop computer from Windows 98 to XP Pro.
I have since been using several programs for BG tracking, diet, and exercise.
(In addition to a written journal of my meals and exercise.)
I thought I'd share with everyone the names (and links) of the programs/tools I am using.

Diabetesforum.com (Obviously :) )
http://www.diabetesforum.com/

BG Tracker
BG Tracker Homepage - Welcome!
It's simple, but yet customizable. And I really like it's daily BG average graph.

Health Diabetes Software
http://healthsoftware.hazeleger.net/
Extremely detailed. And it tracks much much more than just BG readings.
Such as time of reading before or after a meal, weight, cholesterol, triglyceride, HDL, LDL, A1c, kidney liver and thyroid test results, bowel movements, medications, doctor appointments, doctor evaluations, diabetic hypos, etc ..

Win GLUCOFACTS (both standard and professional versions)
Software: Bayer Meters - glucofacts, diabetes management software, Win GLUCOFACTS
The standard is ok. But I quit using it in favor of the professional version.
Readings can be downloaded directly from a Bayer/Ascensia meter or entered manually. They can be marked as pre-meal, post-meal, diet, exercise, illness, special, stress, control, user entered, etc ...