The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
198 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was telling my sister that my glucose level was at 445 the other night. She said I should have went to the hospital. What do you think? She works at a group home for older women and when her consumers get that high they have to take them to the hospital for treatment. I was just a little tired and my vision was blurry. I laid down and when I woke up for work the next morning it had went down to 225. Im not sure what level I should step back and let the ER bring my levels down. What do you think is the appropriate level is to go the ER? I have no insurance at my job so Im very cautious about making a trip for something I could have done at home. I am already seeing a low income doctor that adjust payments for people with diabetes. Im type 2 and am on Metformin 500mg twice a day.:eek:hwell:

·
Registered
1,557 Posts
I am not a health professional and I am type 1, so the guidelines may be different. However with a BG of 445 I would have gone to the ER. I can respect the fact that you have no insurance, but this is your life we're discussing. The high BG numbers can have a significant impact on your future life with diabetes. The higher BG can increase your chances of having diabetic complications with your heart, kidneys, liver etc.

Have you contacted your doctor about your high BG? When you have high BG numbers and are undecided what to do about it - at least drink a lot of water. This link may help explain it: Drinking Water May Cut Risk of High Blood Sugar

Please don't ignore this problem as it can become very serious.

Reactions: foxl

·
Anti-Man Made Carbs!
1,891 Posts
as a fellow Type 2, i have to ask "what are you eating?" 445 is about four times as high as it should be at any time

·
Registered
4,368 Posts