The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I'm new to the forum, not new to diabetes but new to insulin (about a year now). This is a 2 part question.

1) During my "time of month" my sugars go absolutely crazy ranging from very low to very high. Do any of the other ladies have this problem?

2) Last night my levels were extremely low for several hours (30's 40's and 50's range) nothing was bringing it up for a while. In that situation when should you go to the ER if at all?

Thanks everyone
Amy

·
Registered
213 Posts
Amy, those scores are extremely low and if accurate, dangerous. I'd go SOMEWHERE and get checked, as well as check the accuracy of your meter readings.

G

·
hi Amy - I'm new to insulin too...was put on it a year ago.
I'm having ups & downs with my BGLs because of undiagnosed GI problem. In answer to you questions: 1) yes they do... diabetes affects your hormone balance in general... so many things controlled by hormones. 2) too low and get yourself to ER. Can you think of any reason why you're so low? Eg. do you not eat enough for insulin intake? BGLs go crazy when we're sick too... well they certainly do with me. I notice that I get unpredictable levels when I'm in pain or too tired... generally unwell. It's probably a good idea for you to speak to your endo about what's happening as soon as possible so they can assess your situation. Welcome to the forum too btw :) keep us posted on how you're doing.

·
Registered
710 Posts
2) Last night my levels were extremely low for several hours (30's 40's and 50's range) nothing was bringing it up for a while. In that situation when should you go to the ER if at all?

Thanks everyone
Amy
Hi Amy. Lows are never fun, are they. Let us know what your insulin regimen is. It sounds like you might have done a little too much basal. What did you do to try to bring your blood sugar up?