The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to this so I was wondering when I should test after meals. My doc said to test twice a day but I have enough strips to test after each meal. So do I test at one hour or two hours after my meals? Also, can anyone give me some meal ideas for a quick breakfast? I do not care for eggs so I feel I am at a loss as to what I can eat for breakfast. I was eating cheerios but that was before I found out about the diabetes. That shoots me up over 200 if I eat that. Also lunch ideas that are quick. I have to plan out my grocery trip and I have no clue as what to get for breakfast and lunch. I can figure out dinner since I can eat around what I fix for my family. I was eating cheerios but that was before I found out about the diabetes. Thanks for any advice you can give!!!!

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
In the beginning, I tested at both 1 hour after and 2 hours after each meal. I also tested upon waking up (fasting BG) and just before bed. Keep in mind that the reason to test so often is to see what the foods that make up each meal you eat do to affect your BG levels.

My breakfast typically consists of a handful of almonds (10), 5 strawberries, 3 slices of chorizo and 5 slices of cucumber along with a cuppa coffee and a tall glass of cold water. That usually takes a couple of minutes to put together and can be varied according to personal preference. Lunches tend to be leftovers from the previous dinner or a salad. There is a recipe section on this site and there are tons of low carb blogs on the net that can be used to give you menu ideas.

·
Super Moderator
6,162 Posts
My breakfast typically consists of a handful of almonds (10), 5 strawberries, 3 slices of chorizo and 5 slices of cucumber along with a cuppa coffee and a tall glass of cold water.
Okay, this is one of the most interesting and precise breakfast routines ever.

You're the bomb!