The Diabetes Forum Support Community For Diabetics Online banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How do y'all deal with the stress of employers putting limitations on what they allow you to do because they think you can't do much cause you're a diabetic.

·
Registered
2,232 Posts
While I can't be certain, I think I lost an Adjunct Professor position this summer because the university I work for thought I wouldnt be able to do the job after my heart attack this past spring where I also was dxed with diabetes. It has been very hard for me to accept since the job was exactly what I have been helping students with for the past 3 years (voluntarily). Everyone in the dept knows that I'm the best person to do the job but it went to a friend instead (whom I'm happy for but still!).

·
Registered
206 Posts
A few years back, I was purely and simply discriminated against by certain staff members and one manager. Not only some duties were taken away from me but I was not considered for a promotion. Funny because I never called in sick, and I did a really good job. In fact, I worked harder than anyone else. Oh! There was age discrimination too as most workers were in their early 20s. There was no way to educate them. It was an awful place. I left. Some battles are worth fighting. Some aren't.

Reactions: d33na

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
It is nice to know that I'm not alone. I'm in law enforcement and their is alot of jobs that I get passed over for cause they think I'm not capable of doing it. What makes it easier to handle is new way of looking at it. Thank you

·
Registered
5,399 Posts
Would it be possible for you to get a doctor's statement that details what you are capable of doing? (A simple statement of "no limitations" might suffice.) Hopefully, your employer would accept that.

Since you're in law enforcement, I'm assuming it's a public agency. But private firms have Human Resources departments too.